My first book signing!

June 1, 2013

Well I’ll be honest with you, the day of my first book signing, I was really nervous. It’s one thing to put yourself “out there” as an author and hope that people like your work and it’s completely another to put YOURSELF out there for people to meet and like or dislike. I made all the preparations for my big day even asking my friend, Author Gina Maxwell, for advice on what to take and what to expect. Upon arrival, I was so tickled to see Jennifer who is an amazing friend and member of my street team waiting for me. She instantly jumped into action helping me set everything up in the coffee shop we were so graciously invited to use. Jumpin’ Java is an amazing place and I will definitely be back. Amanda Harter, friend and author, was there and we set ourselves up with bookmarks, pens, an iced coffee and our books available. Within minutes, Andrea Johnson Beck, author and friend from Apex showed up and we squealed with excitement as this was our first in-person meeting. She got her things set up and we settled in to wait for our first patrons to roll through. One of the first people who stopped was a nice lady who picked up some of our bookmarks and asked us some questions. Soon we had a steady stream of people coming through and some were curious, others interested in buying our books. I was really excited when a friend I’d only met online came in with her mom and asked to buy a signed copy. Teri Beth and Sharon made my morning! 🙂 Then another fan, Kelly, brought her book that she’d won in with her to have it signed. I loved visiting with them and getting pictures taken. More friends came through and more coffee shop patrons. We all had a very successful morning and before we knew it, it was time to go home. I will never forget how wonderful it felt to have my friends support me and also to meet new ones in person. It was my first book signing but it won’t be my last.

Book signing June1 (2)

jean book signing1

jean book signing2

jean book signing3

2 thoughts on “My first book signing!

  1. It was an AMAZING day and I am so glad I was there and got to be a part of it!! Thanks for the shout out lol 🙂 ❤

  2. Congrats! It sounds like it went great–the only people who showed to my first signing were my parents, my brother and my 2 best friends from the area…

Leave a Reply

